officers of the technical committee on multibody systems, nonlinear dynamics and control

The committee is governed by a chairperson, vice-chairperson, and recording secretary. The term of office for each officer is two years, extending from July 1st of an even numbered year until the end of June two years later. Officers are elected from among the committee members, by the committee members.

  1. B. Balachandran

    Professor B. Balachandran - Committee Chair

    Dept. of Mechanical Engineering

    University of Maryland

    College Park, MD 20742-3035

    Tel: (301) 405-5305


    Dr. Balachandran is Professor and Associate Chair of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Maryland, where has been since 1993. He received his B. Tech (Naval Architecture) from the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, India, and M.S. (Aerospace Engineering) and Ph.D. (Engineering Mechanics) from Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA. His research interests include nonlinear phenomena, dynamics and vibrations, and control, and his recent efforts have focused on taking advantage of nonlinear phenomena for the benefit of a system. The publications that he has authored/co-authored include over fifty journal publications, a Wiley textbook entitled "Applied Nonlinear Dynamics: Analytical, Computational, and Experimental Methods" (1995, 2006), a Thomson/Cengage textbook entitled "Vibrations" (2004, 2009), and a co-edited Springer book entitled "Delay Differential Equations: Recent Advances and New Directions" (2009).

    He serves on the editorial board of the Journal of Vibration and Control, is a Deputy Editor of the AIAA Journal, and is an Associate Editor of the ASME Journal of Computational and Nonlinear Dynamics. He is a Fellow of ASME, an Associate Fellow of AIAA, and a member of AAM, ASA, Sigma Xi, and SPIE. He served as the Chair of the ASME Applied Mechanics Division Technical Committee on Dynamics and Control of Structures and Systems from 2005 to 2007, and he currently serves as the Chair of the ASME Design Engineering Division Technical Committee on Multi-Body Systems and Nonlinear Dynamics.

  2. O. BauchauProfessor Olivier Bauchau - Committee Vice-Chair

    School of Aerospace Engineering

    Georgia Institute of Technology

    Atlanta, GA 30332-0150

    Tel: (404) 894-0042


    Olivier A. Bauchau is a Professor at the Daniel Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology. Dr. Bauchau earned his B.S. degree in engineering form the Université de l'Etat a Liège (Belgium) in 1977, and then the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees form the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (Cambridge, MA.) in 1978 and 1981, respectively. He was an awardee of the Rotary Foundation of the ROTARY INTERNATIONAL 1977-78.

    He joined the faculty of the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Troy, NY, first as an assistant professor then as associate professor. He is now professor at the Daniel Guggenheim School of Aerospace Engineering of the Georgia Institute of Technology. His fields of expertise include finite element methods for structural and multi-body dynamics, rotorcraft aeroelasticity, experimental mechanics and dynamics, and the design and manufacturing of composite materials and structures. He is a senior member of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (1985 – present), an associate member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (1984 – present), and a member of the American Helicopter Society (1985 – present).

  3. Harry Dankowicz

    Associate Professor Harry Dankowicz - Recording Secretary

    Dept. of Mechanical Science and Engineering

    University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

    Urbana, IL 61801

    Tel: (217) 244-1231


    Professor Dankowicz conducts dynamical systems research at the intersection of engineering, math and physics. This work involves studying a wide range of systems that are governed by differential equations and learning the behavior of those systems through algorithms.

    Some of the systems he studies are small. He is working with a company that makes Atomic Force Microscopes (ATMs), for example, to analyze ATM behavior and find ways to control it. In a separate effort, he is designing actuators and sensors that exploit phenomena at the micro- and nanoscale level.

    At the level of living cells, he is developing stochastic models of cell cycle regulation in single-celled organisms, while in the area of biomuscular mechanics, he is part of a large National Science Foundation-funded effort to quantify the functional limitations of the joints that affect walking and developing ways to measure that. He also uses modeling, computation and analysis to study simple mechanisms that exhibit bipedal locomotion without experimental observation, and to develop an image-based way to diagnose scoliosis.

    On a larger scale, he is working on a Swedish Science Council-funded study investigating ways to predict, change and control the dynamics of vehicle suspensions on various terrains, and with a former colleague at Virginia Tech to model the simulation of deformable tires and their contact with terrain-a project that may have applications for use in off-road vehicles.

Previous Committee Chairs
  1. Professor Ahmed Shabana - 2003-2005

    Ahmed Shabana

  2. Professor Subhash Sinha - 2005-2007

    Subhash Sinha

  3. Professor Kurt Anderson - 2007-2009

    Kurt Anderson